www.ringsideboxingshow.com

 


Travis Hartman

of The Boxing Amusement Park

THE FIGHTER'S DIARY

Travis Hartman was a spectacular amateur boxer -- 156-13, with three national championships -- who has struggled as a pro. The 26-year-old, who hails from the small town of Osborn, Missouri, is still an active fighter who maintains a passion for the sport that has consumed him since his childhood.

Hartman's training journal reflects his physical, psychological and emotional struggle as he continues his an ongoing quest to become the best.

 

\

 

Hey! I was that kid

who whipped today's

No. 4 pound-for-pound,

Nonito Donaire

s

By TRAVIS HARTMAN

The Boxing Amusement Park

 

I was checking out the best boxing website on the internet, www.ringsideboxingshow.com, and I happened to run across a link to the Ring magazine pound-for-pound rankings.

The top two fighters in the world, according to The Ring, are Manny Pacquiao and Floyd Mayweather Jr.

 But, the No. 4 ranked guy in the world was the one who stood out to me.

It was Nonito Donaire. This name is familiar to me because I beat Donaire in the amateurs in the quarterfinals of the National Silver Gloves. I went on to win the national title and although it was almost 13 years ago, it still counts to me. I beat a guy who is currently the No. 4 pound-for-pound boxer in the world, behind Mayweather and Pacquiao.

Being ranked by Ring magazine is the highest of honors because it is a ranking system that can’t be bought, so to speak. The rankings are voted on by a panel of sports writers and boxing experts from all over the world. Unlike the other major titles in boxing, The Ring magazine boasts the most legit ranking system in boxing today.

Now that I am done stroking my own ego and getting my daily brag on, I want everybody to tune into the best boxing radio show on the air. You can listen every Sunday (4 p.m. Pacific, 5 p.m. Mountain, 6 p.m. Central, 7 p.m. Eastern) by visiting www.krxa540.com and following the links on the home page.

Don’t forget to watch the “Super Six World Boxing Classic Tournament” on Saturday between champion Andre Ward and challenger Allan Green (who has been a guest on our radion show) on Showtime’s Championship Boxing television series. Then you can tune in to the radio show on Sunday and here our expert opinions on the boxing matches, as well as upcoming fights.

Character is that which reveals moral purpose, exposing the class of things a man chooses or avoids,” Aristotle.

 

SEND AN E-MAIL to Travis Hartman